Fox Valley and DAR Chapters


Group of Presenters In 2004, the Louis Joliet Chapter of the DAR under the leadership of their Regent Shirley Steidl sponsored a wreath laying ceremony at the grave of Revolutionary War soldier John Cook. A similar photo is on their website. In the photo in back: Fox Valley SAR Chapter President Don Parrish, DAR members Helen Mitchler, Patricia Pillard & Shirley Steidl, and Ed Crobie of the American Legion. In front CAR members Jessica Dailey, Cyndi & Stephanie Valencia.

Our Chapter President, Don Parrish, spoke at the event which was appropriate since this grave was discovered in 1994 by our then Chapter President, Frank Zeimetz.


Fox Valley compatriot Steve Riley is the coordinator between Fox Valley and the DAR chapters in the five county area (Kane, Kendall, DeKalb, DuPage and Will) of the Fox Valley chapter. His email is

We have worked with local DAR chapters to honor the memory of Revolutionary War soldiers - the wreath laying ceremony for John Cook and the grave marking ceremonies for John Gowdy & Daniel Burroughs.

We also supported the DAR in Lake County with a Color Guard when they remarked and rededicated the grave of Revolutionary War soldier Henry Collins.

We have a standing invitation for all DAR members to attend our twice a year dinner meetings (schedules and locations are on the Home Page of this website). We also appreciate any referals for potential SAR members from the DAR. Contact details are on our How to Join the SAR page.

Aurora Police Chapter President Mike Johnston introduced Nancy Ristau, Regent of the Anan Harmon DAR chapter in Glen Ellyn at our dinner meeting on October 26, 2008. She was photographed with the Fox Valley chapter officers, and our color guard was in the front.

These 12 DAR chapters from Region 4 are within the boundaries of the Fox Valley SAR chapter. If any of the chapter links below seems out of date check the Illinois DAR website.
DAR Chapter Location Area Covered
Aurora Aurora Kane, Kendall & DuPage Counties
Downers Grove Downers Grove DuPage County
Martha Ibbetson Elmhurst DuPage County
Anan Harmon Glen Ellyn DuPage County
Captain Hubbard Burrows Hinsdale DuPage County
Louis Joliet Joliet Will & Kendall Counties
Fort Payne Naperville DuPage & Will Counties
Amos Kendall Oswego Kendall County
Elias Kent Kane St. Charles DuPage & Kane Counties
General John Stark Sycamore DeKalb County
Perrin-Wheaton Wheaton DuPage County
Midewin Prairie Wilmington Will County